Keflavík Airport Area Masterplan wins THE PLAN Award 2023

We are pleased to announce that the Keflavík Airport Area Masterplan project has been awarded with THE PLAN Award 2023 in the ‘Transportation’ category.


THE PLAN Award is an annual international prize that recognizes excellence in architecture, interior design, and urban planning. With twenty different categories and more than a thousand entries annually, THE PLAN Award offers a significant change to contribute to key issues affecting the sector today.


Keflavík Airport Area Masterplan project promotes health and well-being, suitable densities, smart landscaping and transportation, the masterplan creates a sustainable city region supporting Iceland’s net-zero and sustainability ambitions as well as exemplify United Nations (UN) Sustainable Development Goals (SDG).


MIC-HUB is responsible for the mobility strategy which relies on intertwined networks from local to regional scales.


Luca Guala, MIC-HUB Project Manager of the Keflavik Area Masterplan comments about the project and the role played by MIC-HUB in the project team:

“Working on the Keflavik Area Masterplan has been very stimulating and challenging as it allowed us to look at mobility on various scales, from a local demand-responsive public transport system serving a community of sparse villages to connecting a major international airport with the capital city of Iceland. This required planning a corridor that gradually transforms from an urban thoroughfare to the main intercity road of the region hosting a high-performance bus rapid transit service. The mobility elements are not conceived individually but as parts of an interconnected system, and mobility works together with all the other sectors of the masterplan: urban planning, environment, freight, airport, economy, as parts of a complex organic structure”.


The masterplan has been developed by a multidisciplinary team led by KCAP including MIC-HUB, WSP, Felixx, VSO Consulting, Buck Consultants International, Buro Happold, Base Design, Maurits Schaafsma and Kanon Arkitektar.


The award ceremony took place on 9th November at Auditorium Monte Rosa 91, Milan.

Congratulations to the project team!

Let's stay in touch! Subscribe to our newsletter